Valentine’s Day 2014

Summer isn’t even over, yet Dan and I are thinking all the way to Valentine’s Day of 2014 already. Not that I am trying to rush 2013 or anything. It’s been an amazing year. So much has happened – we have been settling into our new house, Ben’s been talking so much and turning into a wonderful little man, my sister and her husband are expecting their first baby….but for us, 2014 is going to also be a pretty special year. We are being blessed with a new addition to the family…a little girl! Ben is going to be a big brother! We could not be more excited.

Since becoming pregnant, I have been feeling awful. Much more terrible than I was with Ben (since my pregnancy with Ben was a piece of cake). Tired, dizzy, nauseous, hungry 24/7, no energy…the list goes on. But, as I’m entering my fourth month, things are finally starting to look up a bit.

I have continued my fitness routine since finding out I was pregnant at 4 weeks. While at my parents’ beach house I have still been SUPing, kayaking (hello arms), and beach yoga. Long stroller walks with Ben and the dogs are my daily afternoon routine. And on my days off from the gym, pregnancy yoga videos on YouTube have been helpful (so many good exercises on YouTube, people!!)

At the gym I am averaging 2x a week at spin and 2x a week at yoga. (And yesterday just did a barre class – cannot move my quads & triceps today, random!) My yoga teachers are awesome and I know how to modify for pregnancy at this point. Spinning is easy since you kind of go at your own pace and I just don’t participate in jumps. I gained 40+ pounds with Ben and it took me 2 years to get back in shape after Ben, so I’m hoping this routine will help me through labor and help me whip myself back into shape earlier than Ben’s kindergarten years.

So here’s to the next 6 months being healthy, happy & exercise filled!

And since I have barely posted in a YEAR, here’s some pictures to show what life has been like…if anyone cares….

Family trip to Chicago!

Family trip to Chicago!

Parenting is hard.

Parenting is hard.

Me & Ben in Penn Station, going to Central Park!

Me & Ben in Penn Station, going to Central Park (SELF Workout in the Park 2013)

Party time after all that working out - me & my sister

Party time after all that working out – me & my sister

Me & Ben at my sister's baby shower

Me & Ben at my sister’s baby shower

Family photo! LBI this summer

Family photo! LBI this summer

Ben's 3rd Birthday, walking around the lighthouse

Ben’s 3rd Birthday, walking around the lighthouse

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day 2014

  1. Congrats, Lisa! I remember with my first pregnancy I also kept up a fitness routine, although much tamer than yours lol. I did walking, yoga and some maternity workout videos. I credit that plus eating well to helping me shed the weight so fast.

    With my twin pregnancy, it was a different story haha. I was hardly gaining weight, so I forced myself to eat anything, even fatty stuff like burgers and shakes. And no exercise since twin pregnancies are high-risk. Thankfully I fit into my old clothes now, but I still have those stubborn last 10 lbs or so hanging around.

    Wishing you a healthy pregnancy. And yes, it is more tiring the second time around! Oh the joys… 🙂

  2. It’s amazing you weren’t gaining any weight since it was your second pregnancy and twins! Also impressive you fit into your old clothes. It took me 2 years to lose the weight from Ben, so I’m determined to be healthier this time around. Plus my doctor is very adamant about exercising continuously (esp yoga!) and wants me to only gain 25-30 pounds (yikes). I keep wondering when I’ll get my energy back, but I’m starting to think never!

Leave a Reply

