Thinking Outside the Pasta Bowl

I just read a great post about swapping pasta out for spinach. I was a bit skeptical when I read the first paragraph. I mean, I LOVE pasta. So much (read: too much). But after last night’s meal, I started thinking maybe I could do MORE spinach and LESS pasta in a dish and it would actually taste good. Not sure I’m ready to dive right into a huge bowl of spinach minus any pasta, but what the post suggests starting out with a quarter of the normal amount of pasta and subbing spinach for the rest. I can do that.

It’s all about small changes. I have to start making small steps in order to see anything happen or start feeling better. My energy is pretty low right now, and with a toddler that is just unacceptable!

Apparently Lauren Conrad is a huge fan of the spinach swap. And let’s face it, Lauren Conrad looks good.

So maybe it’s time for me to think outside the pasta bowl. Challenge accepted!

(Note: Dan and I experimented with zucchini pasta last year…time to break out the spiralizer and give it another whirl!!)

And, in case you were wondering, here is the pizza we made tonight to finish up the pesto. Boring…2 pizzas in one week! Thank goodness tomorrow night we are making Crockpot Salsa Chicken to mix it up a bit!

Mouth party!

It’s amazing what something as simple as roasted tomatoes can do for this pizza. And, less cheese. (I know…what??) The pizza was surprisingly better with less fresh mozz! And the tomatoes. Whoa. I need to roast them more often. For what, I’m not quite sure yet.

Time to relax on the couch with some Sookie!

Leave a Reply

