Ricotta Basil Muffin

I got this recipe sent to my inbox yesterday via Muffin Mondays. I had every ingredient on the list, and they looked interesting so I figured I would give them a try! Not sure how I feel about them. They are good, but they are also very basil-y and pretty spicy! I don’t think I can actually let Ben have any (great…I have the equivalent of 48 mini-muffins. Who is going to eat all these???)

Ok, after adding a teeny bit of butter…I take back anything bad I said about these little guys. Wow, they are tasty. Just finished off 4. Oops. Next time I wouldn’t make mini-muffins because half of the muffin sticks to the paper and I’m left with a teensy morsel. But this recipe is definitely a keeper…less cayenne next time so Ben can try them!

It may be 80 degrees outside but I only had cute snowflake muffin papers!

Ricotta Basil Muffins. Spicy.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Pinch of Pepper
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 cup Ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sunflower oil

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 375F
2. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, dried basil, salt, pepper and cayenne set aside.
3. In another bowl, combine the egg, milk, olive oil, sunflower oil and Ricotta cheese and whisk to blend.
4. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the ricotta mixture.
5. Stir with a fork just to combine.
6. Spoon the muffins and bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Source: Baker Street

Using Calorie Count, I was able to put the ingredients into their Recipe Analyzer and find out the calories per muffin! I made 24 mini-muffins and 12 large ones. So one small muffin is 40 calories, so I guess a big muffin would be 80? Not bad if you ask me! Perfect so I can add it to my Lose It app and log all the calories for these babies.

Off to do a short Tone It Up video while Ben is in a good mood!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Ricotta Basil Muffin

  1. Pingback: Feeding a Toddler: Carrot Snack Sticks & Veggie Baked Ziti | Adventures in Cooking

Leave a Reply

