Spicy Kale and Chickpea Stew

I had no idea what kale was until today. It was uncomfortable looking around Eden Gourmet today trying to figure out where this alleged “kale” would be. And then the choices! So many types of kale! So finally, I did the most genius thing in the world. I bought a big bag of ready to cook kale. Done!

I also used the slow cooker for this recipe. After a quick call to my mom, she said it sounded like something that would work in the slow cooker, saving me from standing over the stove, stirring a pot (impossible with Ben around, anyway).

20120301-092854.jpg

This picture was taken when I first put in the tomatoes and didn't realize they needed to be diced. DICE THE TOMATOES!

I made a few adjustments since this original recipe on Epicurious makes a million servings. Literally a million. I basically halved the recipe and I think Dan and I still have enough to feed our entire apartment building. Luckily it was really good.

Recipe adjustments: 1 can of chickpeas (cooked in water and a can of vegetable stock), 1 can of tomatoes, way less kale than called for (1.5 pounds is a lot), no thyme or cumin, basil instead of oregano, added a jalapeno, no bell peppers.

20120301-092928.jpg

Spicy kale and chickpea stew over rice pilaf...yum!

I also made some mashed potatoes, but everyone knows how to make those, right?

20120301-092938.jpg

Creamy mashed potatoes

Source: Spicy Kale and Chickpea stew at Epicurious.

One thought on “Spicy Kale and Chickpea Stew

  1. Pingback: Zoo Jersey | que ben porte

Leave a Reply

