Super Bowl Snacks + Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

This Super Bowl we had a few people over and made lots of yummy food! The menu was as follows:

To make the wonton Taco cups, we just put wonton wrappers in mini-muffin tins, and filled with refried beans and cheddar cheese. I baked at 350 for about 8-9 minutes (I made this up completely, open to suggestions on the temperature). Once cooked, dollop with salsa, olives and/or avocado. This took all of 2 minutes to prepare and was a hit!

I have never used a slow cooker before and wow, I love this machine. It’s magic. Seriously. I don’t even get it. You just throw a bunch of ingredients into a pot and 6-8 hours later you have a delicious meal? Yes, please! Sign me up!

20120206-174611.jpg

Taco cups / Spinach dip / Slow cooker Chicken Tacos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

  • 1 pounds skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 4 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 jar salsa (I used organic Shop Rite which is my new favorite)

That’s it! Not much else to really say! Cook on low for 8 hours, and mix a few times towards the end. The chicken literally falls apart and shreds itself. We then had all the fixins on the counter and made a little taco bar: tortillas, cheddar cheese, avocado, tomatoes, and salsa.

Source: Adapted from Martha Stewart

Tomorrow I am trying black beans in the slow cooker! This would eliminate me buying canned beans, therefore lessening BPA in my life, making me very happy. Excited to see how it comes out!

2 thoughts on “Super Bowl Snacks + Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

  1. Pingback: Super Fun Super Bowl | que ben porte

  2. It looks like you had some delicious treats at the game this year. You can never do wrong with a spinach dip and I definitely hear ya on the versatility of wonton wrappers; amazing little buggers! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

